Theta Double Dot by Alan Dale #BookReview #AustinMacauley #4*

Saddled with the project everyone dreaded, Mark Hammond finds himself ensnared in a nightmare that threatens his marriage, career, sanity and, finally, his life.

Who are the increasingly violent activists, wreaking havoc, with attacks on petrochemical plants across the UK? Ministerial frustration increases with mounting evidence of police bewilderment.

Mark’s problems expand to include an Alaskan community facing annihilation as the Arctic Sea threatens to overwhelm their homeland.

Desperate for time and managerial support, he finds himself enmeshed in the ultimate horror; a race against time, to a potentially suicidal showdown.

Not even he envisages the terrible endgame.



Exciting – and Topical!

An exciting high-octane thriller which will keep you on your toes!

Mark is a project manager struggling to cope with his workload and desperate to hold on to his job; as luck would have it, the boss assigns him the nightmare job that everyone knew was coming and all hoped to avoid. This new project is for the petrochemical industry and as well as facing heading to Alaska and running all his jobs from there, Mark is aware that there are protestors set against it as well as an Inuit community facing the relocation of their village in order to accommodate the proposed development. The pressure is increasing – and he doesn’t know the half of it yet!

There is a lot going on in this one and it took me quite a bit to get it all straight in my mind. However, there came a point where I was totally riveted and just couldn’t put the book down! I read on until almost 3am to finish the story as I was so invested in finding out what was happening. Don’t let the page count fool you; there is a LOT of reading in this novel and it needs patience to get to the crux of the matter – but so worthwhile. I suspect a little editing would make this a sharper read, and there were one or two characters I would have liked to see getting their come-uppance by the very end. However, it is a well thought out story with excellent characters and several surprises along the way. Very enjoyable (even at 3am) and well worth a read. 4*.

My thanks to the publisher for my copy and to the author for bringing his novel to my attention; this is – as always – my honest, original and unbiased review.

Tags: crime thriller

Author Details

I am a retired graduate mechanical engineer, who has managed petrochemical projects.

My debut novel is Theta Double Dot, published by Austin Macauley.

My introduction to writing was the Writers’ Bureau Comprehensive Course. I have since had stories, articles, fillers and letters published.

One story was accepted for dramatisation on local TV, while three others have been broadcast on local radio.

Another won second prize in the 2017 NAWG 250 word competition.

An adventure story was short-listed in a Writing Magazine competition and I was joint runner-up in the British Czech & Slovak Association Short Story Competition.

I have also had a story published in the 81-Word Anthology of 1,000 81-word stories by 1,000 authors, edited by Chris Fielden and published by Victorina Press.

One thought on “Theta Double Dot by Alan Dale #BookReview #AustinMacauley #4*

Leave a comment